This site uses cookies to enable site functionality. By using this site, you accept our use of cookies.

Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia | Finnish Academy of Science and Letters | Academia Scientiarum Fennica


The Finnish Academy of Science and Letters is in the process of developing its web pages. It is planned that this page should contain a brief history of the Academy.

The Finnish Academy of Science and Letters was founded in 1908.

Three histories of the Academy have been published to date:

Oiva Ketonen
Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia 1908-1958
Helsinki 1959. 338 pp.

Aimo Halila
Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia 1908-1983
Helsinki 1987. 291 pp.

Jyrki Paaskoski
Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia 1908-2008
Helsinki 2008. 447 pp

An abbreviated version of the latter has also been published in English:

Jyrki Paaskoski
A community of Scholars. The Finnish Academy of Science and Letters, 1908-2008
Helsinki 2008. pp. 95


Finnish Academy of Science and Letters
Mariankatu 5 A, 2nd floor
00170 Helsinki, Finland

+358-50-4620 890
acadsci (at)

Secretary General
Pekka Aula
+358-40-7030 952
pekka.aula (at)  

Administrative Manager
Leila Sarajärvi
+358-50-4620 890
leila.sarajarvi (at)

Science Communicator
Klaus Elfving
+358 50 5876 527
klaus.elfving (at)

Administrative Assistant
Nina Rapelo
+358-50-4620 889 
nina.rapelo (at)

Administrative Secretary
Suvi Salmi (study leave from 1 October)
+358-50-5128 830
suvi.salmi (at)

Administrative Secretary
Emilia Lähde (from 6 September 2021)
+358-50-5128 830
emilia.lahde (at)

Academy Secretary, Sofi (Science Advice Initiative of Finland)
Jaakko Kuosmanen
+358-40-0601 716
jaakko.kuosmanen (at)

Science Communicator, Sofi (Science Advisory Initiative of Finland)
Nanna Särkkä
+358-50-5208 366
nanna.sarkka (at)