This site uses cookies to enable site functionality. By using this site, you accept our use of cookies.

Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia | Finnish Academy of Science and Letters | Academia Scientiarum Fennica

Year Book 2016

Yearbook 2016 can be read as online book via link above.

A separate application is required to open the files, for example Adobe Reader (available free of charge on Adobe’s website). Using Mozilla Firefox’s built-in PDF reader may result in missing characters. In this case it is recommended to download the file to your computer or disable the built-in PDF reader (detailed instructions are available on Mozilla’s website).


Kirsi Tirri: A greeting from the President
Pekka Aula: A message from the Secretary General


Academy Award - Markus Pessa
Eino Jutikkala History Prize - Jari Ojala
Jutikkala Prize - Jaakko Kuorikoski
Väisälä Prize - Peter Liljeroth
Väisälä Prize - Kaisa Matomäki
Väisälä Prize - Minna Palmroth


Annual report of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters


Publications by the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters


Ilkka Hanski
Esko Hoppu
Osmo Ikola
Pentti Laasonen
Kalle Maijala
Juhani Murto
Kimmo Mustakallio
Matti Myrsky
Pentti Rokkanen
Ritva Serimaa
Anna-Leena Siikala
Christian Sucksdorff
Martti Tiuri
Paavo Uusitalo
Juhani Virta


ISBN 978-951-41-1130-3

Finnish Academy of Science and Letters
Mariankatu 5 A, 2nd floor
00170 Helsinki, Finland

+358-50-4620 890
acadsci (at)

Secretary General
Pekka Aula
+358-40-7030 952
pekka.aula (at)  

Administrative Manager
Leila Sarajärvi
+358-50-4620 890
leila.sarajarvi (at)

Science Communicator
Klaus Elfving
+358 50 5876 527
klaus.elfving (at)

Administrative Assistant
Nina Rapelo
+358-50-4620 889 
nina.rapelo (at)

Administrative Secretary
Suvi Salmi
+358-50-5128 830
suvi.salmi (at)

Academy Secretary, Sofi (Science Advice Initiative of Finland)
Jaakko Kuosmanen
+358-40-0601 716
jaakko.kuosmanen (at)

Science Communicator, Sofi (Science Advisory Initiative of Finland)
Nanna Särkkä
+358-50-5208 366
nanna.sarkka (at)