This site uses cookies to enable site functionality. By using this site, you accept our use of cookies.

Suomalainen Tiedeakatemia | Finnish Academy of Science and Letters | Academia Scientiarum Fennica

Former recipients

2020: Professor Mikko Möttönen (physics) and Professor Tuomas Orponen (mathematics)

2019: Professor Goëry Genty (optics) and Professor Tuomo Kuusi (mahthematics)

2018: Professor Tero Heikkilä (theoretical physics), Professor Jani Lukkarinen (mathematical physics) and Professor Otso Ovaskainen (mathematical ecology)

2017: Professor Camilla Hollanti (mathematics) and Professor Sabrina Maniscalco (quantum physics)

2016: Professor Peter Liljeroth (physics), Academy Research Fellow Kaisa Matomäki (mathematics) and Professor Minna Palmroth (space science)

2015: Professor Risto Korhonen (mathematics) and Professor Mika Sillanpää (physics)

2014: Professor Mikko Salo (mathematics) and Professor Paul Greenlees (physics)

2013: Professor Tuomas Hytönen (mathematics) and Professor Tuukka Petäjä (physics)

2012: Professor Marko Huhtanen (mathematics) and Professor Sebastiaan van Dijken (physics)

2011: Professor Xiao Zhong (mathematics) and Professor Mika Valden (physics)

2010: Professor Peter Hästö (mathematics) and Professor Janne Ruokolainen (physics)

2009: Professor Kaisa Miettinen (mathematics) and Professor Adam Foster (physics)

2008: Professor Eero Hyry (mathematics) and Professor Edwin Kukk (experimental physics)

2007: Professor Eero Saksman (mathematics) and Professor Kari J. Eskola (physics)

2006: Professor Jarkko Kari (mathematics) and Professor Kari Rummukainen (physics)

2005: Professor Juha Kinnunen (mathematics) and Professor Kalle-Antti Suominen (physics)

2004: Professor Matti Lassas (mathematics) and Professor Martti Kauranen (physics)

2003: Professor Jari Taskinen (mathematics), Professor Päivi Törmä (physics) and Professor Timo Vesala (meteorology)

2002: Professor Tero Kilpeläinen (mathematics) and Professor Keijo Hämäläinen (physics)

2001: Professor Pekka Koskela (mathematics) and Professor Erkki Thuneberg (physics)

2000: Professor Erkki Somersalo (mathematics), Professor Jari Turunen (physics) and Professor Markku Lehtinen (geophysics)


Finnish Academy of Science and Letters
Mariankatu 5 A, 2nd floor
00170 Helsinki, Finland

+358-50-4620 890
acadsci (at)

Secretary General
Pekka Aula
+358-40-7030 952
pekka.aula (at)  

Administrative Manager
Leila Sarajärvi
+358-50-4620 890
leila.sarajarvi (at)

Science Communicator
Klaus Elfving
+358 50 5876 527
klaus.elfving (at)

Administrative Assistant
Nina Rapelo
+358-50-4620 889 
nina.rapelo (at)

Administrative Secretary
Suvi Salmi (study leave from 1 October)
+358-50-5128 830
suvi.salmi (at)

Administrative Secretary
Emilia Lähde (from 6 September 2021)
+358-50-5128 830
emilia.lahde (at)

Academy Secretary, Sofi (Science Advice Initiative of Finland)
Jaakko Kuosmanen
+358-40-0601 716
jaakko.kuosmanen (at)

Science Communicator, Sofi (Science Advisory Initiative of Finland)
Nanna Särkkä
+358-50-5208 366
nanna.sarkka (at)